Little Advent Blessings

“Mary kept all these things and pondered them in her heart.” Luke 2:19

IMG_2999During this Advent Season, I am slowing down and concentrating on preparing for Christ’s birth. I don’t want to be so busy and so stressed that I miss the little blessings all around me. Baby Jesus was not surrounded by all the stuff and the noise that bombard my life. So, I breathe. I want to ponder the small things of my everyday Advent journey. The birth of Jesus, our Savior, was the greatest gift ever, one to never be overlooked even when the Christmas season passes.

I am thankful for many small blessings this month. Here are a few. Perhaps you can make your own list as Advent approaches Christmas Day.

  • a cup of hot tea, cider, or chocolateIMG_3004
  • a favorite ornament
  • an inspiring book
  • a warm blanket
  • Christmas cookies
  • a nativity
  • string of lights
  • wreathes
  • Christmas cards
  • candles
  • Advent wreath
  • shiny bowsIMG_3003
  • Christmas carols
  • the Christmas story
  • Christmas Eve candlelight service
  • Hallmark movies
  • my sleeping cats
  • children’s laughter
  • visits with friends and family
  • cold weather, maybe snow
  • jingle bells

I’m sure I will think of more, for little blessings are everywhere. Let’s concentrate on them this season. They bring me comfort in a crazy, chaotic world.

Merry Christmas!

 

One thought on “Little Advent Blessings

  1. Katie Gray

    What a lovely reminder of Christmas joy. I have a very similar list. Your house is always beautiful and comforting for this season. I enjoy colder weather, sweaters, tree and lights, and cooking with family. Merry Christmas!

    Like

Leave a comment